Официальный сайт Конфедерации союзов кинематографистов
Wednesday, 24 April 2024
Menu created by Gugo`s art boxroom and Mikhael Grefon


1. General provisions


1.1.  The International Film Award “East – West. The Golden Arch” is a prize for film achievements given to the best films produced in the countries of Eastern Europe and Western Asia.


1.2. The Award is granted by the Jury comprised of film critics and journalists writing about cinema and culture of Eastern Europe and Western Asia.


1.3.  The objectives of the Awards are:

o Building interaction between national film industries of the countries of the abovementioned region

o Dissemination of information on new talented filmmakers and cultural diversity of the region

o Promoting the best national films to the international film markets

o Advancing the film development and distribution industry; research and analysis of national cinematography’s experience, traditions and achievements

o Increasing spectators’ interest in the films from Eastern Europe and Western Asia

o Setting up a unified film industry database for designated region.


1.4.  The prize is awarded in the following nominations: “Best feature film”; “Best documentary”; “Best director”; “Best screenplay”; “Best cinematography”; “Best art director”; “Best music”; “Best lead actor”; “Best lead actress”; “Best supporting actor”; “Best supporting actress”; “For contribution to cinema”.


1.5.  The Award is given annually to the creators of films released within one calendar year prior to the competition (with possible exceptions for countries where films are not released annually).


1.6. Filmmakers’ unions, institutes of film, professional film associations of the aforementioned countries, as well as independent and private production companies, film magazines, festivals, and the Award’s media partners can submit their films that should be in the original language with English subtitles. By submitting a film for nomination, the copyright owners acknowledge their full agreement with the Award’s rules and regulations, and readiness to provide access to the film on video or via web links, to all members of the Selection committee and the international Jury. All members of the Selection committee must see each of the submitted films. Film entries should be submitted before February 1, 2018.


2. Order of the competition


2.1. The Selection committee forms a Long list of the best films, submitted for the Award. The selection is from December 1, 2017 until February 1, 2018. The films long-listed for the Award will be announced and made available for voting by the Jury on February 5, 2018.


2.2.  During the first round of voting (from February 5 to March 10, 2018), each Jury member selects three winners in each nomination. Jury members sign a document confirming that none of them had anything to do with the submitted films - they were not a part of the production, distribution, promotion, advertising, sales and the like, and they have never received any kind of reward from the authors of the films. Calculation of the first results is made by the Counting committee and is registered in the form of a protocol issued separately for each of the nominations.


2.3.  The Short list of the Award is based on the results of the first round of voting by the Jury and consists of the three nominees with the highest number of votes in each category. They are announced in alphabetical order. The list of first-round winners can be expanded by films with equally high number of votes in the same category. The Short list will be announced on March 15, 2018.


2.4. During the second round of voting, each Jury member may select no more than one candidate in each nomination. The second round runs from March 15 to March 25, 2018, with the results of the voting forwarded to the Counting committee.


2.5.  Nominees with the highest number of votes are announced as second round winners. The list of winners can be expanded by including those entries that receive equally high number of votes in the same category.


2.6.  Based on the results of the competition, Chairperson of the Counting committee and secretary of the Executive Board of the Award seal envelopes with the names of the winners in each of the nominations. The sealed envelopes are being kept by the Chairperson of the Counting committee until the date of the Award ceremony. One hour prior to the official start of the ceremony, the Chairperson of the Counting committee delivers the sealed envelopes to the venue of the ceremony and passes them to the Chairperson of the Executive Board. During the ceremony, Chairperson of the Executive Board hands them over to the participants of the ceremony for the public announcement of the winners of the Award.


2.7.  The Board of Trustees and the Executive Board will determine the winning candidate in the nomination “For contribution to cinema”.


3. The Counting committee


3.1.  A Counting committee comprised of an independent law firm and the secretary of the Award’s Executive Board is established for the purposes of calculating the results of the voting during the Award competition.


3.2.  The Counting committee is responsible for the correctness and confidentiality of vote process and calculation.


4. The Award Ceremony is held in Moscow in the first half of April. Prospectively, Annual ceremony can take place alternately in different cities of Eastern Europe and Western Asia. Nominees, Jury members and other honored guests are invited to the ceremony. Each winner receives a certificate and a “Golden Arch” figurine.